madhappycrafter

quilting, mosaicing, painting, and other adventures in making

Is there such a thing as having too many WIPs? (works in progress)

Leave a comment

to thine own self be true

It’s so easy to start something. Ideas come a mile a minute. But often during a project or a work of art, there come stages where the work is not progressing as you hoped, or you don’t know what will emerge yet and you’re lost in the forest, not knowing what to do next.

Sometimes it’s easier to flit to the next idea and abandon all those unfinished projects to “someday” when I know what to do next, or feel “inspired” But let’s face it – there are simply going to be stages you like better and some that are mind-numbingly tedious. At some point, finishing has to be the inspiration. Having many WIPs can work very well for me – as long as I am consistently working. When I’m not working consistently on art or making, these same WIPs can painfully remind me that I have left a lot of things unfinished, which can undermine my confidence and trust in the work itself and the process.

I like having many things going at once. If one presents a place where I feel stuck, working on another project, often in another medium, can inform and enrich other projects, and provide a way to go. For instance, writing a poem can evoke visual images. A painting can suggest a quilt.

I’m starting this blog for several reasons:

1) to share new projects at their inception, along the way as they progress, and show some finished projects.

2) to keep track of unfinished projects so that i will finish them; then show and tell about finished projects.

3) to meet other bloggers and inspire each other in our art making (I consider all “craft” art making) I’ve already been inspired by many blogs, and learn so much from other bloggers

4) To discover new things about myself, how I work, and new directions that call out to me. To discover what art inspires, what things in Nature speak to me.

5) I’ve never had a blog about the arts; most of my blog topics have been about the environment. It’s a relief to put down the burdens of this world for awhile and experience some joy in what else I love (besides earth, gardening, and nature).

Leave a Reply

