madhappycrafter

quilting, mosaicing, painting, and other adventures in making

What’s in a blog name?

Leave a comment

Why did I call myself and this blog Madhappycrafter?

Lest people be put off by the “Mad” part of this blog name, I thought I’d better explain it a bit. By “Mad,” I don’t mean angry – although at times in the creative process, when one is stuck or frustrated, one can feel anger. The madness I speak of here is a happier kind of madness. All the artists and craft people I know that are any fun, and whose work excites me, are a bit mad. You have to be, to see the inherent art and crafting possibilites in things like candy wrappers, coffee stir sticks, broken table legs, and the like. My “tribe” of Mad people includes people who love to make recycled art, or will go out in a hailstorm to catch that amazing photo op, or stay up all hours of the night quilting, or do a whole series of paintings based on doorknobs.

The “Happy” part is obvious- when I’m making art of any kind I’m happy – whether it’s a painting, or wall quilt, a functional thing like pillow cases or a flower pot, or up to my elbows in garden dirt, or dancing around to some good music, it all brings joy.

the “Crafter” part comes because all art requires craft, from multimedia to dance – from paper piecing quilts to abstract impressionism painting, from crafting poetry to building a garden or cooking a fine meal. We are all crafters. I don’t see a distinction between  “fine” art and “craft,” and get annoyed with those who try to look down their noses at crafters as “not really artists”. Says who?

So there you have it – how this blog name was born.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA The Milk Hunter

This is a silly little mixed media hanging I made to cover the metal fuse box in the apartment. This baby is on the hunt – for milk!

Happy Crafting!

Leave a Reply

