madhappycrafter

quilting, mosaicing, painting, and other adventures in making

I just learned how to do all-machine quilt binding!

Leave a comment

Yes, the irrational fear and dread of binding is easing, thanks to a wonderful blogger whose blog website is called Cluck Cluck Sew. A google search brought up her tutorial on machine binding. Not only that, she breaks it down into very easy steps, and it’s the best method for someone like myself who is rather impatient with stitching binding by hand. The blogger’s name is Allison Harris, a young mother of three. I’m so pleased how well explained things were, and with the fabulous photographs of the proccess – it’s hard for even a beginner or the clueless to get lost! So this post is dedicatd to Allison  at Cluck Cluck Sew – a big appreciative THANKS for sharing your knowledge with new people; so far I love this method. Time will tell tomorrow when I flip the binding over to the back and see if I can machine sew it the way it’s described in the tutorial. Hopefully I’ll have a picture soon. I’m not exactly strong on finishing – it’s more like “get ‘er done” and on to the next thing. I am a pretty careful, if simple, piecer – but then I kind of fail on the machine quilting part, in the two quilts I have made. All-machine method of binding is  time saving, and it looks really nice when done right. I’ll be back tomorrow with a picture of a finished successful binding, I hope.

Check out Allison’s website for yourself – it’s full of great, easy to understand tutorials and inspiring quilts. I’m especially fond of her scattered triangle quilt, her Chain Reaction design, and her Very First Quilt –  I’m awed that she took that on as her first quilt – amazing looking; it looks hard to do, while still being a great improvisational piece.

http://www.cluckclucksew.com/p/about-email.html

Her machine binding tutorial can be found here:

http://www.cluckclucksew.com/2013/01/machine-binding-tutorial.html

 

Leave a Reply

