madhappycrafter

quilting, mosaicing, painting, and other adventures in making

Dry Spell

1 Comment

Gosh, how did almost a month go by?! This title is no accident – it has been a dry, dry spring and summer – tinderbox dry. I don’t do well with hot and dry, being more of a winter Northwest rainy/ summer Northeast jungle creature. 🙂  Creatively, I’m feeling dry as well. This has not been a very productive time, but I guess summer never is; I’m too busy working, and tending my own garden. My internet and phone went down again, and I hurt my back a couple weeks ago and have taken it easy so that I don’t hurt it worse. Back injury seems to happen every July once I start dragging those heavy hoses around. I decided to hire out the watering parts of my jobs, but have not created anything “arty” in that time off… dove into some novels and cuddled with the cat instead!

I painted these little paintings in mid-June. Put them into a gallery. Hoping they will sell, but I need to make more, if I want to have a body of work there. I’m pretty rusty at painting but it sure is fun when I do it, however inconsistently!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I enjoy doing abstract art the most, but it’s good to know I can still fake something a bit more “realistic” if I have to!

I’ve been looking longingly at my fabric stash and wanting to get back to quilting! I gave my little Frida Kahlo quilt to my quilting mentor and friend. She’s such an amazing quilter and artist and if she likes it, I’m honored. And then there’s mosaicing – want to get back to that too!

Sorry my posting has been so infrequent. Will try to post more because it gets me thinking about creating, and feeling inspired.

One thought on “Dry Spell

  1. I love these landscapes and the more recent abstract. They celebrate the real intensity of unfiltered nature.

Leave a Reply

